Ep 23 - A Year in Review

Ep 23 - A Year in Review

In this episode, Ryan Joyce and Graeme Reed review their top magic moments of the year, discuss magic trends and make predictions.


Episode 23 | Magicians Talking Magic Podcast

Hosts Ryan Joyce & Graeme Reed


Listen to the Podcast Here:


Audio Transcript For the Hearing Impaired


Ryan Joyce: Welcome to Magicians Talking Magic. My name is Ryan Joyce. This is episode at 22 I have been a fulltime chocolate maker for last 20 some odd years is a very busy time for me. I special in the nut-free allergy side of chocolates, which is irony because I am really big into knots. All right, and this is,


Graemazing: Ryan Joyce: Oh, welcome to Magicians Talking Magic. My name is Ryan Joyce. I am a professional chemists. That is what I do for a living. I do chemistry and this is,


Graeme Reed: My name is Graemazing and I have been handcrafting recycled paper for over three years now and selling them at local farmer's markets. I have lined paper, I have half size paper, I've a four paper, I have full scat paper. Um, and some of it looks like elephant tusks but it's not, it's all recycled paper. We use all the newspaper and cardboard boxes we get here at home, make it in our bathtub. It is called tub paper.


Ryan Joyce: I always loved paper as a kid. It was like the one thing I wanted to buy at the store was paper. And I remember going to um, gosh, this must be grade two, three, four. It was one of those, um, in the gymnasium they had all sorts of different sellers of things, you know, people raising money for some cause. And it was a guy that they're obviously worked at the paper factory and there was all sorts of like big style paper like the teachers had. And I always wanted that. Oh, like the big, the big ones, like the clipboard kind of paper. This rehab, this would've been, it was white too, like artists, the paper, but it's just on a, it's so maybe, I don't know, two feet by three feet. Kinda like really big. It's like that magician prediction paper. Yeah, that was exactly it.


Boy, that felt for me like a fresh blank. I don't know. It was like a beginning of a story. I don't know. There's just something really magical about it to being just a blank canvas. As a kid. I re I still love paper. I guess I never even connected the two, but that's my like brainstorming magic go-to. Like let's, let's get this out of my brain into the world. It's a jumbo piece of paper. The biggest size I can get my hands on nowadays. I just have 11 by 17 he made by the mind map made by tub paper of course. And um, chemically treated with a special chemical only developed by Moi. Yeah. We have actually started working together. Now we take the tub paper, we take your chemical treatment, put it on top, and it's actually a dry erase piece of paper that's like totally environmentally friendly and recyclable.


It's incredible. Yup. It's millennial friendly in millennial friend. Um, lots of wrap up on the Christmas stuff. I don't know. My last show was something else I'd like to maybe leave behind. That's, but uh, that's a bummer. Oh, we're wa, you know, it was, it was a big, if, because of this scenario, I'll just tell you the, the first two factors and you'll be like, yeah. Oh, I get it. Oh, a factor. One 750 to 800 people. In fact, number two, the parted C of the ballroom dance floor. Um, so, and I own that as well as I could and I did the best that they could. For some reason, my camera didn't engage right off the bat. Obviously the computer, which was an, I've never had that happen. I'd still don't know why to this moment, whether that happens. So that kind of threw me for a loop right off the bat and I was really counting on that to sync them all in.


And when that failed I was like, yeah this is, this is going to be miserable. So, and it was a, as you can expect, I spent most of my time standing on a chair realizing that there was about, you know, 3% of the 850 people that could see some of the actions I was doing. But right. You have no choice because I got there and it was like a five o'clock is usually when I walk in and my show is usually at eight 30 to nine or so. Um, and then I get there and there's one stage and it's covered in the band. Oh amazing. That's always amazing. Yeah. We forgot what that other guy that we paid just the same fee. Right. But we're going to put him on the floor. You know, it's weird cause you did this at the same venue that I had my nightmare gig at as well.


Ha. Same place. And I had the same situation to where the stage, the DJ had already fully set up when we got there and then we got bumped like to now, let me ask you, was there a stage in front of a stage? Sorry I was constantly coughing there. Yeah, that's okay. I've got like a special formula I've created in the lab. I should give you combined a couple of things. It'll help that bark. Sometimes people sound like cats. It's weird. I have a, I have a pretty horse dog cough and a pretty soft cat cough as well. This stage when I got there. So there was a stage off to the side that was kind of vacant and it was in the corner of the setup of the room when I got there and they'd set up risers to create a stage for this DJ.


Oh boy. Yeah cause they had that like embedded stage of the F in the middle. So everyone picturing this is like a picture, like a dollar bill basically. And then in the middle of that long edge, put an inset stage that was maybe, I don't know, two, three feet deep and in front of that, not much stage in a ramp or a riser I guess. And there was nothing, there was nothing. I had to grab a chair as I walked out to my music. Yeah. And stood on that chair and Oh boy. Just painful. And how long did you go for a, I did 39 I think. Oh wow. 39 minutes of just enjoyment or 40 it might've been, you know, my saving graces, those videos. Whoa man. Reputable videos planted in there so that I know that like they still will walk away via like there's, even though it was like really like I couldn't hear him and I couldn't see him and I couldn't, they could still have some kind of like a positive emotion attached with that I hope. Maybe question Mark, like floating tables. Normally for me it's like started on stage where everybody can see it and then go do a deeper in the audience where the camera and everything. Well, this was just like all audience. So like anywhere I decided to go, I knew I was losing half of the room. Right. Oh, so that was that. Thank goodness it's gone, uh, from the memories and um, yeah. I want you to tell me what yours last.


Graeme Reed: Oh, my last Christmas show was ridiculous. It was a house party, a friend and company. It was, I dunno, it was there a cat. There was a cat, there was a dog, there was animals. It was great. The party was up in your magic kit. Not this time. I was doing walk arounds and no magic. Oh no. Magic kit. It was an ugly Christmas sweater thing. So I wore a Hawaiian Santa's Christmas shirt that I had


Ryan Joyce: and I did, it was to any gay MCHA and they did two hours of walk around at this house party. And it was a ludicrous was party. So they had a cardboard cut out


Graeme Reed: Chris lover. Yeah. And they had literally candy dishes with joints and things all hang here. And so this was a fun holiday party and spelled funny in there. It did smell funny in there. Everyone was having a great times and everyone was my age, about 33 Oh three, I would have been a blast 35. So it was all perfect. All the jokes, everything was surprising. Um, and it was awesome. It was a great way to kind of finish off the whole holiday season. And I have one show left now. All I have left is new year's. Even it's an early new year's Eve. I'm doing some restaurant magic and my favorite place, black bull where I've always done a lot of restaurant magic and it's done at seven because they celebrate, they kind of do the U K new year's Eve thing because an English pub and they're going to close at seven and then they have their holiday party. So it's great. I get to come home and then relax, uh, with Alicia we can finish finish off the year.


Ryan Joyce: I should have been over at that party. Talked to them about those Tetra hydro cannabinoids. Yeah. I know everything about them and the effects it would have been. Um, yeah, it would've been a great holiday party. Yeah. With your chemistry, with all your chemistry back, with all my chemistry knowledge in there. I definitely know a thing or two about those. So your chemistry company, is this, are you a high school math lab? Is that you or are you no. Oh gosh, no. We study the effects of carbohydrates on the uh, on the blood system. That's what we're doing. Yup. Carbs in blood. Yeah. Yeah. It's, it's all about those kidos. Um, how boy is that on the, the, uh, his weight loss or any, not weight loss, but any new year's resolutions? I've got weight loss on my mind. That's why I said that one. It's definitely one of my, I need to hit the gym. Well, I don't want to lose weight. I just want to get a little bit more toned again.


Graeme Reed: I gotta hit the gym again or getting a, my endurance up I was doing, we were doing really well before the month of December. Then we went on vacation, we came back, I got sick twice and then I did a lot of holiday gigs, very sick. And then it just kind of wrote, wrote it the holiday. So I gotta get back in into that gym mode again cause I find doing these shows now I need a little bit more um, energy. Like when I used to just do the paper, uh, top paper just at home sitting with your hands. But now when you got a lug, some equipment in the car go do a magic show or something like that, you need some more endurance and you should also, I'm a little bit of my products. I want to make myself look a little bit better for


Ryan Joyce: all these things. Yeah. Yeah. I man, it's, and it's always good to have a goal. I think it's always, especially, yeah, we feel hopefully a little bit refresh from the holidays and um, so start something ambitious. I always, I've always been one of those like at least try to dedicate myself to improving, you know, at the beginning of the year. Some people I know just don't even whether maybe they're more real to themselves, but they don't even re dive into the, they're just very realistic now. I don't set new year's resolutions. I just do what I'm going to do. It's just another day. Yeah. Yeah. I've never, I've never been able to do that. I've always been goal, task orientated I guess.


Graeme Reed: Yeah. I like to look at it as the whole year. It's a new start to the whole thing. Looking back on this year, did you have a favorite magical moment that you had out of the home? Boy,


Ryan Joyce: so many to think about cause it's been, there's been a lot of stuff going down this year, um, from, you know, from top to bottom and the secret shows, secret shows the sulfur and secret shows. And I've had a lot of fun, rewarding contracts this year. Um, I met some really great people. There's, um, Oh, I'm actually going to see them real soon. The captain and his now fiance on the ship that I'm going to, uh, this celebrity summit, they just got engaged. So it's nice to, you know, this is the young Instagram and stuff and another, another friend. So that's always, that feels that, you know, there's all sorts of those. And of course we can't, I mean the elephant in the room is the Oh, wow. Festival. Um, yeah, the huge festival that you through, which was a lot of work and uh, you know, a lotta, a lotta effort. But, uh, I'd say my favorite moment would have to be, um, uh, hard. It would be part of the festival when we gave the lifetime achievement to Joan Caesar. I think that was my mom for sure. My most, I mean I, yeah, I, I've got footage of that somewhere. I'm sh no shame. I'm an emotional guy. I grind on the drop on a dime. So I'll, I'll try to put that up somewhere cause it was a nice moment and I hope we have footage of it, but, uh, how about you? Um,


Graeme Reed: for me, my favorite magic moment, I don't know. Like there's, so there's so many and I think, um,


Graeme Reed: cause we, they, we did a lot of cool things this year, like writing secret shows. We ran other shows outside of secret shows. We got to, we put this crew together and we were doing shows at breweries and other places like that. And we've kinda got this great group of guys and performers that we can go and host all these shows. So that's really exciting that we're doing that now. Um, I don't know. I think mine though at of all the moments, uh, one of them, and it's not even my magic moment, but it was watching kind of like, um, a show like someone else's show and is that a wow festival? And when we talked to, I've talked a bit on here already before, but the Nick Wallace balloon moment, which they can, Oh my God, just the end result of his trick. And it was really just because the kid was perfect. Um, but his response to the whole trick, that's what I think that's the ideal reaction. Everyone wants to magic and that was just so lovely. Yeah, that nailed it. And I also hadn't seen that trick before and I wasn't sure what, Oh, wow. Nope. So I was on full surprise alert as well, so it was great. I was very excited about the whole thing.


Ryan Joyce: That's really great. Yeah, it was a profound moment and I was just new to that effect myself. I had never, I had just seen it recently. So that to seeing, yeah, it was just, it was really remarkable the, the tension that was built and not really knowing where it was going officially and then, but the power of that of course is entirely in the performer because if the audience can trust that they're being taken care of John this journey, not really quite understanding what they're experiencing, but like the more they can put that tension on the, on the performer, the better that outcome is.


Graeme Reed: And you kind of understand like, well he of himself, so this is going somewhere. It's not a waste of


Ryan Joyce: plenty of time. Yeah. Cause this because it's scripting is tied in and all that. And it was just really, it was a great piece of magic. So that's, yeah, that was kind of, yeah, that was a really fun, I want to just add or did I cut you off on your magic moment because I wanted to add into one that, um, that we both share. Well, the podcast this month, we had a really amazing month actually like, uh, like doubled, doubled our listeners in one month. So that's really exciting and we're really thrilled that you're all here so,


Graeme Reed: well, triple snaps for everyone. There was people doing the listens and stuff. That's crazy that people do this, so we're, that's awesome. Yeah.


Ryan Joyce: Thrilled that you're here and you're listening along with us. So that's a, yeah, that was, it was a great month or watch twice that it's been a great couple of weeks and uh, I've been a little, do a little sleep in and catching up and I'm ready to take on 2012 20, 20 new decade. New decade too. Yup. Um, did you have a favorite this year? Did you have a favorite show or performance that you did this here? One that stands well. Okay. Well, I feel there's going to be conflict here because I think we're both going to have exactly the same one. And that's okay if we can because the moment was so, Oh, it was, I feel like it's rare that your anticipation and your hopes aligned with the realities. And this was like just one of those nights where a lot of things that stumbled together, you know, after maybe just a little under preparation and a whole whack load of stress and just hitting the right room with the right temperature and the right crowd and the right moment in the right alignment in the universe.


And that of course. And of course the other aspect, the show that we're talking about is mad magician versus right. Yup. Yeah. Are super unique. Special event that we did at the AOL magic festival is the late night show. Yeah. Um, that we did where we basically challenged each other with different themes. Yeah. They can, can these magicians do magic with non magical things. It's like an ongoing theme on my YouTube channel forever. And it's like just pits this idea of like, like what would a magician do with, pardon me with this, this random unusual item now. So we chose two that were related to the Scottish heritage of the, the town that we were in, in, uh, the other one of that was the seasonal theme as seasonal theme. That's right. So we had, um, a haggis yup. And at a pumpkin and a pumpkin and a pumpkin.


And this was this whole, this whole show was a little, it wasn't a fiasco, but it was an everchanging evolving thing throughout the entire planning of Oh wow. Festival. I don't know if we ever taught, we might've talked about it a little bit before, but I don't know if we did much. Yeah, we might've, cause there was, there was that moment when like, so beforehand, right. Didn't mean to cut you off. Sorry. Beforehand it was really tense because we're having computer problems and the thing wasn't going and we really needed the video. I had spent a lot of time in the video to make the transitions and everything makes sense. I feel like if there was one takeaway of magician versus for the people that are listening, how can I like what we're going to ramble about for just a couple of minutes will impact them. I feel like it's, it would be this, um, I in this case use video to explain a lot of details in a very short amount of time.


And I did that using scripting and writing and advanced like preparation and people inherently, I feel respect when you save their time. So by eliminating ums and AHS and UHS and ooze and spaces and all that, wasted time and energy plus having a really concise script. And when I say that my in this case was to articulate what each round was with a four line poem that also would come around and, and have some kind of a moment when we were finished. So that was what the effort that I put into it. So how you do that in your own magic is by really scripting your damn performances, script them, and know what you're going to say and then know how you're going to transition and know how you're going to go to it, to the next one and know that stuff. Um, because you'll notice that your show improves and you don't quite know why.


And it's because it's the audience is giving you more than they have previously because you've taken the time to make your, your show more attuned to their needs. You see it in, for example, YouTube, you'll notice that these jump cuts, you know, these people that just take out the ums and AHS and the spaces in their videos and just the most concise pref, you know, moments that's, we've got to do that with every routine. It's gotta be done that in the only way you do that as recorded, watch it and literally chop. So magicians versus who walked in with stress high and boy, um, my, I guess the moment like uh, I remember Krista came back cause we're still after the show was over and I didn't really go out and see everybody cause I still, I don't know. I I needed to calm down. I think so yeah we need to like get elected the room for a and she came back and said just some, just some lovely things. I don't even remember what she said cause I was still in a blur but it was just really a high, it was a wonderful hi.


Graeme Reed: It was all very positive cause we were expressing how nervous we were all day. Yeah it all worked out in the end. But the whole thing like it was because oil was being planned for months and months and this was always a one of the late night shows that you wanted since the start of planning. And it's been different the whole time from celebrity judges that would be planned. They're two different magicians that we're going to be in this to no one being involved in it too. In the last moment I was always, I was always in this competition and then in the last couple of, I wasn't supposed to be in this, you are not in the competition, but in the last couple of weeks you just said, screw it. I'll just do it. And I actually, I said fuck it. Right. Yeah. And really that was probably the best case scenario because then we pushed each other, we shared our ideas as we were working on them. Um, yes. Yeah. But it was so interesting because we both came at it from different ways


Ryan Joyce: and that's what I think is so fun about it. I still think in the future would be fun to have a third sort of surprise contested in the end. And we should also admit ed stone was an incredible host


Graeme Reed: and stone and it was amazing. Yeah. Basically third gave him a mic and all my God.


Ryan Joyce: Oh, and he nailed that. He set that stage for us. Oh, he really, he's so charismatic. I really like ads. And people in Ontario that maybe haven't gone to go see his show, go down to see it. And it's, uh, at the old stone in, uh, in Niagara falls, he's, they call it the mystic lounge. Uh, and he's got, I think it's every Friday. They're a Friday, sometimes Saturday. So, but check it out. It's stone. It's a great grateful on mind reading mentalism experience. Right? Niagara falls. Yeah. He, so he really added to that whole, you know, having just three pros, not too. And, and Peter was, you know, where they're getting all the sound and everything moving from the stage show to having to just quickly do this thing. It was a, it was a lot of to put on a lot of people and, and so all of those energies came together in a roomful of audience, you know, with Rick and Steve in there.


And you know, it's just great. It was so much fun. It was so fun. And to get everyone's live feedback cause we were originally planning to have celebrity Matt magic judges and then we just ask that people hanging out, Hey, we'll just ask the room and what you think, how does that work? And there were a lot of the show is improvised because we really didn't have a full plan. We had a loose plan. Luckily the videos were a huge help to kind of structure the show now that production value element and also give us a quick second uh, backstage, which was really a side room to switch mikes and regroup for a second and be like, where are we? What are we doing? Yeah. So it was very, my magic box was a cardboard box, legit. I don't know about everybody else in the world, but when I take on big tasks and projects like this, I literally have physical spaces where stuff goes.


So it's like this is Saturday night, whatever. And it's just in the big box that accumulate stuff. And I've got the appropriately in the L. and so from the beginning, this was just like that box and I didn't know how much stuff I was going to end up being in. There was a massive box. Cardboard box was my magic kit. So yeah. Oh, you know, and like I did pieces that night that I've done a thousand times in my life, but I've never done them like this. And there was a little R and D involved. In fact, I really am proud of the one that I the yeah, the haggis haggis routine. Yeah. I really, really am. The only thing that bothers me from that whole night is I had one scripting thing that it would have never done it in the live in the moment anyways. It meant none of this makes any sense to anybody, so I won't go into it.


Can you describe your haggis routine to listeners at home if they don't? Sure. Sure. Well, um, I did the, uh, well I saw a Raphael Ben ATAR do this trick. Um, I don't know who the original is, but I've been doing this for like 15 years. It's my go-to card piece. Uh, I combined a car pocket, the refuge by an ATAR version, whatever that is, the homing card, repeater card to pocket. I don't know what they sell so much better on this than I am. And then I've always added that to clipped. Um, uh, so I would walk out at the restaurants or in a group setting or whatever. I put it on my key chain actually for my car keys so that I'd be like, I just carry this around with me. It's just from the first card trick I've ever performed. It's just sort of sentimental and I'll hand it over to someone.


Uh, I in this case I want it off solo. So, uh, usually have found that the card will just sort of jam nicely and the key ring and an impromptu version. So as long as you've got something to make that click noise, a key, just the actual ring works too. But um, okay, so handed to, you know, handed to them and then they forget about it. Cause you do this real kick in the face, piece of magic that is, uh, the card to pocket and then you go. But Oh, by the way, like that, remember that card from the first truck I ever heard Dan? Well, I kinda lie to you. It's not the first trick is the most recent and you know, give it to, it's just a kick in the face. So, uh, I essentially did that in combo with a piece of magic vibe.


I've also did it in my long history. I didn't want to do something new. That's how I approached this. Both of these problems. I wanted to do something that I knew I was going to be able to, that some core, have done enough times, have fluid retention mentally on how it's supposed to go without, so I could concentrate on like owning the room. Right? And so, uh, I combine it with the, the ring, um, shoot, you know, the ring in the bag and the bag in the box principle basically. So, uh, so here's the setup, uh, for magicians versus the, Oh my God, I got to think about this before. It's been so many, so many things have happened since then. So I just, I guess I just, I'm, I came up with a vague, so this Teddy bear. So what I did is basically I've got a Teddy bear and the Teddy bear was a stitched up at the front.


I'm like, it had been cut open and I used latex, uh, two 60 queue balloons of all the colors of the rainbow and I tied it set so it looked like it had just had surgery and was cut open. And, um, the whole Teddy bear itself was charred. I took spray paint and a blow torch, um, to really chart and make it look like it was, um, yeah cooked because Hey, Gus, of course is the hearts and the liver and the like, just all the garbage of the sheep and they cook it inside of, um, the sack of the intestine or the stomach. They can't do it this way anymore because of bacterial reasons things. But, um, that's the traditional way. So I'm vegetarian. Uh, I've been for like 15 plus years, so I, that was my kind of ruse is that since I was veggie, I was, I had prepared a vegetarian version of haggis and it was this Teddy bear ripped open and inside of it was a plastic with like the cotton guts and stuff.


And inside of that plastic bag, which was their card, which was folded four times and sealed with a rubber band. So the fun part about it was an aisle. I maybe I should show this on my blog sometime, but or somewhere, I'll figure it out. But I had to create like this internal wire frame for the bear to keep it open. And it literally a shoot right up its anus and tail. I hid the whole early well. So, um, I took, um, I had bought a, uh, for Keeny ball set, um, or one of those manipulation balls and they came into tube, a clear tube, so it was a little too big. So I cut it and I folded it over and held it together, the right shape with tape that was perfectly fitted to allow the build a slide down the anus of the Teddy bear and into this wire framed, held open a stomach, um, and awaiting, you know, plastic bag and yeah, all I had to do was a slight, um, close of the shrinker


Graeme Reed: pull out that too. Yeah.


Ryan Joyce: And I, with my chemistry nature of very, very comfortable holding a tube with that size and girth and um, they're, the bear was, was done. Um, I could actually freely almost handed out because the tail hit that damn, uh, opening so well,


Graeme Reed: no, I don't even know to look. No one would even know to look. Yeah. Yeah. At that moment I think it was very, it was super crazy and wild bears upstairs. I exercise and see it every day. It's a good Relic to keep. It's a good way. I like to keep from the show. Yep. Hello, my anus bear. Yeah, I thought it was really fun for the haggis thing. I went way outside the box and I did a trap cup routine, which I've never done in my life. Good for you, man. Full on risk-taking. Yup. Good for you. I was doing brave. That was a little too brave on that one. That was, I was really sweating bullets. I don't think I was panic mode. I'm so sorry. I don't, I blacked out during the whole thing. I don't think it went as well as I wanted it to, but it got, I got through it.


But you did it well. The response seems great. Yeah, it was fine. I produced a sheet part at the end and he used a haggis can and these little pompom sheeps is the balls. That's so fun. That's fun. It was fun. Yeah. Devil snaps for creativity and actually the whole show pushed me to create that routine with the pumpkin. I did this a mentalism pumpkin carving routine and I used it at a comedy show and then I use it on the news like I liked the routine so much that I'll probably do it again next Halloween. Oh, that's cool. That's cool. Yeah, you got a lot out of it. It's a good routine. You see, we pushed ourselves and it worked. In fact, this is a show that I want to, well here's the winning, if you guys are local in the area, we're going to be doing a couple of these things in such a, in the Fergus reason.


So we should, if you're listening to the podcast and you yeah, we'll give you updates. Well we'll do it everywhere. We're going to try to find a couple of different places to film and do things. So if you want get updates, just follow the podcast and we'll, we'll slide in these announcements, uh, and keep you posted because 2020 is, there's more shows, more specials like the Halloween special, which is another cool, magical moment that happened this year too. That wow, that escaped my memories. I was on cloud nine that night. That was so much fun. Live streaming the, I mean it wasn't a live special, but you live streaming as special that you would record it. And we were there for the video hangout with the whole time to chat. And it was like one of those classic magic specials with you are hosting it leading into the acts.


And we had theater acts, closeup backs. Oh my gosh. It was so great. It was so prepared to like, I was not sure how ready I would be for it, but we use a lot of packaged stuff. Like I, we had filmed a lot of, I mean the Paul Harrison would you, we had filmed obviously a year before. Um, and we actually will, full disclosure, we use that in the end because right. We're going to film something, but because of time crunch. Yeah. With the festival, it was easiest just to use this performance of deep player that we had in me. Yeah. Yeah, totally fit. It was the same season, so yeah. Oh yeah. It worked. And then we had that interview footage from when I had that. Yeah. The set up in the kitchen even, which was, I don't even remember when we filmed that. Right. But, um, that was right after Christmas to her last year was it?


Yeah. Wow. And we should do a lot more of that stuff. I really enjoy that. I think there's no medium like that out for there for magicians. So that's some of the stuff that I want to be making. I've been thinking a lot about what I want to do for 2020. It's um, I'm not gonna share it all of course. But, uh, there's definitely some projects out there that have sparked my, my dendrites was, um, how would you, what do you think of for 2020? What's 2020? So I'm focused right now and I've already started the process on these things because Christmas season is over. Yep. And it is this weird downtime between the new year and everything. So I'm taking the time to do all my organizing, uh, my business and my magic perhaps. And the entire house. It's a full, clean, sweet purge of everything, getting everything organized because I have a clear idea of what I'm doing with my magic and where I want to go. Yeah. So I can purge some of my props and things, sell them, throw them out, whatever, and I'm just cleaning everything, organizing all of it. And I'm going to take my current show, put it on the shelf, and I'm going to start rewriting and working on a whole brand new 45 minutes that I hope is completely unique because I do some of the standard mentalism


Graeme Reed: bits that I don't want to do. I want to have things. So when you see my show, there's, this is the only good for you, a young guy that does it. So that's my goals for this next decade, I guess really it's the next decade, but to starting in 2020. That's great.


Ryan Joyce: I'm, I'm mirroring you completely on that vision. I want to also take a braver stance towards trying some things that I've been a little afraid to do in the past and making some mistakes. Um, yeah, I can't wait for the next pop-up show, whatever that is that we're going to do. I've got to think. I want to put together like three minutes when we do that, it would be fun. So that's, these are great visions. Uh, I w I N. okay. So yeah, I've been trying to find clarity in my own voice. I guess I'm trying to understand what I want to share and such and that's, that's, I've got a lot of clarity on that. Um, and I think everyone goes through this journey, especially with our businesses. We've got to keep social. Right. And so how do you match that with your message online and your social media and all your business he tasks? Cause if you can connect those two together and try to align them and I've just terrible with, with keeping all of the social media up to date, I just, I'm swamped by it. So I want to also be more proactive in, in, in that those stages


Graeme Reed: already I'm already implementing every Monday I sit down first thing in the morning and I do, it only takes me an hour to do all my Instagram posts for at least one week. That's where two accounts. So my personal account and magicians talking magic that's what I will do. All the posts. However, I was still sometimes post on your own on my own time. Uh, if I, if there's news and magic or if something's happening in real time with my magic. But to be honest, over the holidays I took Instagram off my phone. Um, so that all the posts just happened and I wasn't watching it. I never looked at Instagram. I only dealt with the app I was using online to do all my posts. I was using later.com it's free. Yes. Which is amazing. Yeah, it's good. I know there's other things and Facebook even has their own but later is very intuitive and, and uh, visual super visual to you.


Yup. That is a benefit of it. So I use that. You also only get 30 posts if you're using it for free. So that's why I do some, uh, hand bomb. And from the Dropbox I always connect things to Dropbox because they create a lot of my stuff from Photoshop or Canva and you can link all those things to Dropbox. Super easy, someone new in that it's a great tool. But I find now I'm doing more social media and not even looking at it. Which is a unique way to, if you start batching that process and you hammer out one day a week to do the whole week. Yes. Pretty easy. I think you have to be tight. Like I would be great to do a full month, but I think you have to be more timely, timely. It's sure. Social media, it's negative.


Ryan Joyce: Big headers, maybe a big, yeah. Yeah. You could do a handful a week for the month and then just feeling, that's really great. Yeah, man, I've been on the same vein as you. I've decided recently, uh, I've been putting my phone, not have been, this is scheduled, my phone is on do not disturb from 9:00 PM to 11:00 AM. And uh, that has really helped my sanity greatly. Um, just shutting that down. It's um, so the, yeah, the little habits and things, but the social media, I just, I don't the bings and the boots, like you get it from the, get it from the watch, you get it from the earth. Right. It's just, it's so much and because I mean we're running so many different campaigns and I'm also running like all sorts of other projects into, it's just, it's endless. It's endless. And so that's something, I don't know how to control. Uh, that's one of the things that I'm trying to get a grasp on. So my solution based on listening to all sorts of other people like Tim Ferriss and Dave Asbury and all these people that I sort of follow podcasts and stuff and listened to, that's what they're,


Graeme Reed: I'm starting to look at everything is what's the objective and why do I have this and do I need it. So the only reason why I'm on Facebook and Instagram is to promote my magic business and to make it clear to anyone that follows me. I do this, I continue to do this. It's growing. And they see, cause that is actually how I get a lot of gigs is through weird direct messages on Facebook and Instagram. Right? Hey, we noticed that I didn't know you did this kind of party. Can you come and do her holiday party next week? That happened twice this Christmas season, which was great. I got some last minute, you know, private restaurant gigs out of that because they saw the style of magic. They thought I just did a standup show and some people think I just do close up magic. So I share both all the time. I'm not there for the likes. I think some people are there for that gratification of, Oh, I'd ruins looking at my things. I need to build my brand and awareness. It's brand awareness and marketing and that's all I'm doing. That's all. It's there for us. So that's the objective of my social media and that's why I'm using it. I'm not using it to show videos of magic tricks or anything. I'm not trying to get followers that are pre-teens.


Ryan Joyce: Yeah, and with the social, I mean whatever it is that we decided to do is what we as along as we will you lock into it. I find it hard to put in new magic on, I mean on the platform all the time because I'm not learning it actively like that. So I've had to become very real with with that too. It's hard to put magic on in. Well for me, I guess maybe not for you cause you were hurting magic all the time. Well I don't put magic on, you know you don't, but if you, if you'd like, it's too competitive. It's too swamped in that in the magicians side of it, there's a lot of magic content.


Graeme Reed: I think we have the same feeling on it to that magic you have to experience it. You have to be there to do it. It's not, yeah. Agreed. Yeah. It's not just a video thing. Cause even I've had a friends and family say I don't really like that magic for humans guy because I think there's a, someone's in on it because it's a video.


Ryan Joyce: So if the only they knew how much care went into that,


Graeme Reed: I know. I was like, well that one's really well done, but I get what you're, I get where you're coming from. Yeah. I get where you're coming from. I thought, I thought the presentation I match for humans kind of set it up so it didn't feel like anyone was in on it. It always seemed like it was really, yeah. And I think only a magician would kind of know. There might've been some bits we didn't see, you know.


Ryan Joyce: Yeah, yeah. There's selective editing, right. Which is, which is fair game. Yeah. Um, yeah. I have yet to watch the rest of that. I wonder what everybody else is. I've been to too many experiments lately too, too many sodiums and all sorts of bubbling. So, uh, I haven't caught up on any of those, but um, I will hopefully I've got a ship in a week in a bit, so I'll be catching up probably on a little magic for humans during the flight. Are you taking your chemistry set on the ship? Like you're demonstrating chemistry? Yeah. You know what, where I'm headed to, I better not this destination. I better stay clear of it. It's a little risky down there in those Eastern Caribbeans. Oh, you don't want to take your, uh, they've already got their chemicals, man.


Graeme Reed: Yeah. This is the end of a decade. This is the end of a complete decade. What happening in the next couple of days, which is very crazy to think about a full decade. For you personally, looking back at the past 10 years, I haven't even known you the full 10 years. No. What? Like what is the biggest thing that you have seen personally happened to yourself or in magic that you would want to share on the podcast for the listeners? So a big thing in the decade.


Ryan Joyce: Oh boy. Well, okay. Let me just go back to, wow. Wow. Do you remember what you were doing 10 years ago? Yeah, I just jumped on the ship for the first time on October, 2000 and 2010 isn't that incredible? Yeah, so this is 10 years for me. So my honestly that's occupies a lot of my time over 10 years magically. I feel what I would say the 10 years has taught us is just paralleled with the rest of evolution of communication and the fact that I sort of already went over it, but the magic message has changed drastically. Like it's no longer suit and tie and big heavy scripts and stories and stat. It's no longer the magic. It was 10 years ago greatly. It has changed greatly and the benefit or the catalyst of course is the internet. That's what he's done this so thank you internet for helping evolve so greatly in the last 10 years.


We have much still to to evolve too, but we are seeing a lot of diversity in magic which I think is incredible. That's changed probably more sharply like the curve of that. Even in the past, even in the past couple of years with things like the, she's an podcast helping the awareness of how females have been just naturally excluded out of the magic industry. Yeah, and I think that's incredible that we're, we're shedding finally shooting, seeing that light being cast and so much more acceptance is happening now for just everything, which is great. Yeah. If you think 10 years ago, the way we used to talk to each other, the jokes we used to share, and if you think of today


Graeme Reed: how, I mean it's a sensitive time, but it also all makes sense because those things, how could we even say them before anyhow?


Ryan Joyce: Yep. Um, yeah, so it's good to, I think it's a great time for magic. A lot of people probably feared the technological advancements and that would be the other thing I would add to this as my final remark is that technology has really, really been embraced in magic and that's cool for me. I think that's super cool. I think that is cool because I remember actually 10 years ago


Graeme Reed: when you would read books, articles, watch lectures, it was always this debate. It's still happens sometimes, but using a camera in your performance. But now more and more people are suggesting to do it because it's about visibility. We're not using it as a tool or you can write a lot. It's really more about production value and visibility. So you can take a simple magic show that's not the big box illusion but still buttered on, on stage. Exactly like how you do it.


Ryan Joyce: Yeah. And even in implemation implementation of magic in an effects and things is also really, really awesome. I mean it's, it's a really great time to do magic I think we have a lot of exciting times ahead of us. Um, and I, it's nice to also see, I suppose the um, camera trick problem has I think settled. I just seem fair. I think so unless you're watching a social media then that's a different discussion thing. But I think, yeah, I think when you're like the classic camera trick, when you would watch the stage, the spectators, they're more accepting I guess of the fact that magic is being done through the camera. Yeah, I suppose. So that's a real big win. As long as magicians don't mess that up. I think also the presentation that magicians are giving magic now on TV is more acceptable to see it on TV is a little bit more of a casual approach a lot of the time. So, you know, that may probably no one's in on this and


Graeme Reed: it's fine. Like everyone feels trustworthy in the situation, I guess. Yeah, agreed. Even cause some of those early on street magic specials, maybe not the David Blaine ones, but some of those criss angel pins, that stuff felt so prepared. A little really roost produced, produced I guess is the, yeah. Nailed it. That's the word. Looking at your show from the past decade, what was your show like 10 years ago?


Ryan Joyce: Oh boy. Two it was two suitcases, maybe three. I might hole left with three. Oh boy. That first show on the ship was so much stress. Uh, so my show has gone down now to a little bag that I can fit in my backpack and then the floating table. Um, but I also carry a projector and a couple other bigger things that I can just make my life easier. But as far as my show, it's drastically cut down in size. My script personally as a human, the thing that's changed the most is I was always scripted, driven to the point where it was easier for me to memorize the script and it was for me to improv. That's changed dramatically. So my existence here with the podcast and it's just, you know, now 5,000 shows and just flight time they call it, I guess that's dramatically changed. So I would throw me off if I missed a line or if I went out of order before or decided to put something later or something. Yeah, it would throw me off and now that does not happen. Like I can riff and I can read the room and improv and that. Why what's changed? I would say I'm a slow learner and on that front and um, it took that long time to get that confidence.


Graeme Reed: Can I give it an observation that I have just from knowing you now for maybe half of this decade I guess? Yeah, man. Absolutely. I think you come at it from a theater. When you created your show, it was, you created a theater show. So everything has to be timed out perfect. When I started creating my show, I came at it from the idea of as a standup comic where anything might happen and I don't have the theater mentality of structuring it. So I think that's where you, cause you are a really fast learner, but I think it was your thought Pat process on creating the show came from uh, a tighter structure to begin with. I think that's how you started and I'm, I want to get there, but I liked the loosey goosey nature of what goes on for me too.


Ryan Joyce: Yeah. I feel, because I feel when we're on stage we're in a different zone and for some reason I felt for ever and a day there, there's like barrier that would connect to my regular consciousness with that onstage consciousness. And I feel like that barrier has been dissolved and that's like that improv muscle I think. Right? It's, I dunno, it's weird. Your anxiety about like I don't get anxiety about shows really hardly at all, but you know, it's, that's not to say that it doesn't, it's not a different mindset in a different, like you've, you're reading and you're feeling the emotions of 1300 people in that room. Like, you know, there's a lot, it's a lot of stimulation on the performer. So, um, I think it just took me forever to be able to come to like, just to be able to process it all.


I don't know. I, we're always harder on ourselves, right? Like of course our internal dialogue there is also, I've heard this discussion before, but there is a lot in a magic trick because you have to make sure everyone's paying attention or magic's not gonna work. You can't just be a band and be hanging out in the corner and you can tune out and chat to your friend for a minute and then tune back in or go in, order a drink or go to the bathroom and come back in or start a whole new like chemistry experiment or start. Yeah. Or stick. Go to the bath tub real quick and start stomping on some paper fibers and flattening and precedents and do Yodel or anything where you do the stomping. Lesser like a great ceremony. Well I've been doing lessons with you. You have a good, can you give me a quick Yodel?


Yeah, you have a much better, I've been doing the lessons but I always get uh, uh, pretty coarse dog bark cough every time I try it. All right, let's hear it. That's fascinating. So do you, uh, so your set list, if, can you remember what your set list was in your first cruise ship show? Oh, there's a good, sure. That's a big change. And my cue sheets, that's a big change. Thanks to Michael Paul. Right. Okay. We should do that sometime. Actually that's going to be a magicians master classics goes. If I want to hear more about the theater cause I don't know anything about that world and I should learn that too. But I'm curious about, cause I know your show now is pretty, it's a very packed light. Um, but what was your set list then? I got my, first of all, my cue sheets were like five, seven pages.


Now it's like a page and a half. So that's the first. That was a big, big change when you've, I feel like the flow of your show is incrementally slow in, in change because you've got to try something. Um, and the variables change from show to show, right? So you try a new position for a new routine and then it's is a dead audience and your, or you put it back in. It's an amazing audience and it's hard to really tell if the decision you've made is a correct one all the time. It is what it is. Hard to evaluate. Yeah. Yeah. And that's what makes us so slow for performers to get because unless you're doing, which we were doing at the time, like 12, 13, 14 shows a week, you don't get that flight time. So it's, I don't, I don't know how people are going to do it these days. That's, that aren't willing to do it. Like the stuff that you do as like the comedy nights and just any, anything you can, you can get your any stage each time. Yeah. Yeah. Um,


Graeme Reed: so you're set, like you were doing more illusions. How many illusions did you have until, Oh, sorry. And yeah, well the first, sorry. Yeah. And the first show, the first ship was a walk on show. So that was what I was thinking about when I was doing this and I carried the advice, the violin routine, how to,


Ryan Joyce: um, it's own table and his own suitcase. And that was just a four minute routine. So my, my luggage ratio to set time ratio has changed or the most of anything I suppose. Um, the actual material in the show probably hasn't changed much other than me cutting stuff like the show used to be what it is now. Plus origami incident, babe levitation. Um, I think mainly yet, you know, and that, and that would, I would do all that in 50 minutes. Right. Wow. And so now I'm doing 46 pretty much on the dot. Um, with just an envelope, a couple pieces of paper, a newspaper, floating table, and a rope. A rope in a yellow bow. Wow. That's main ones. I forgot that rope. I was, I was supposed to do a show. I did a show for in Toronto was one of those big, high pressure.


Gala's bear was only doing 15 minutes. It was really, I believe anyways, it doesn't matter. And I grabbed the wrong silver magicians suitcase, which was filled with um, um, flash cotton and a confetti cannon. Ooh, fun. Yeah, absolutely nothing. Uh, so we were at a hotel, so the rope routine that I've done, which is not minors from Jonathan, it's Jonathan Pendragon DVDs, brilliant routine. It's just a gypsy rope tie. So it's been around for the Dawn of time. It's not Jonathan Ben Reagan's either, but, um, anyways, this, um, the hotel I just asked as I walked in, could I please get a house coat? Um, and so I did the whole routine with the house coat.


Graeme Reed: Oh boy. Anyways, that's so, uh, the actual content of my show, sorry, in 10 years, has it


Ryan Joyce: changed drastically? Um, well except for dropping all those illusions tight, tighter. Yeah. I've dropped, dropped a bunch of stuff. It's gotten tighter. My scripting scouting had gotten better. I've written jokes about me that aren't like stock jokes. Um, I've, you know that stuff, right? Yeah. Yeah. Wow. How about you


Graeme Reed: man? My 10 years as been crazy because I have switched my entire career in the past 10 years. I became like literally maybe just 11 years ago, 12


Graeme Reed: years ago, I became a professional television broadcaster and working full time in the TV biz and I kind of had put magic aside for a little bit because I was, I just finished college and I was working full time and I had a full time gig, so everything was great. And I had stopped doing magic for a little bit. Um, maybe not completely, I'd still check it out, but I wasn't doing it as, I would always have a couple of gigs every year and I wasn't doing gigs anymore. And then, um, five years ago I was already getting back into magic but I started doing comedy clubs maybe even six years ago. But I just did my first comedy club. I did a Yuk acts as the first time ever doing stand up on us. Did you do just stand up pure stand up? No, I did magic at a comedy club.


I don't do the comedy standup but um, yeah this is the first time I ever did standup. I've only ever done close-up or a kid's birthday. So I took that huge risk and that was like six years ago. Um, I would say a September time, which was really crazy to think. And then this man, two years ago I gave up my whole career as a graphic designer and broadcast technician cause I did everything in the business from switching live air TV to playing back tapes to doing graphics to doing audio camera, uh, everything. And then even in the creative aspect from producing and doing graphics and editing, video editing, I branded a lot of crazy things from like Bloomberg, Canada and all different TV stations that happen here in Canada. And things like that, TV shows, but I put it all aside to dive into this magic thing that I've wanted to do since I was a kid and I, I went for it.


And I remember thinking last year at Christmas time that I might have to give it all up again and go back in and get another TV gig because money was really bad. But this was my, that was my first year kind of trying it full time. But then this past year I was still working a little bit of freelance TV and they didn't pay me all summer. Like I didn't get paid and I needed to still, I have a house, I got to pay a mortgage. Yep. So I literally went to farmer's markets and was performing on the streets for money and I made all my money that I made more money doing that. And I booked all these gigs from doing that. So at that moment everything's switched gears and now I'm full time magic complete magic no more of this graphic stuff. And this is all I do.


And then, I mean we do all these fun side projects and things like that, but looking back a decade ago thinking now that I'm actually doing magic and I've changed my career, that's really crazy. Really excited. Yay. Snap. Cause like 10 years ago you walked onto a ship of the show. 10 years ago I didn't have a show. Right. Man, that's really, that's really awesome. Yeah. Even just watching peripheral, you can see in a year the like the ER, especially in two years, like I don't know how long we've known each other. It's relatively new. It was five or six, five or six visit farms around that same time when I started, uh, doing


Graeme Reed: it there was when I met you. Oh yeah. Oh is that, yeah. Yeah. Yeah. So it's, I've seen definitely seen change dramatically. So it's great. It's really awesome. And then even start this whole paper company on the side too. That's a whole step in there. Yes. So much, so much. So much a podcast. Something about a chemical posit I mentioned, but yeah, chemical podcast. Um, this past year in magic tricks, it was heavy with Rubix. What do you think about getting chemical? Do you think that's a decent title? That's what I was thinking about for this. The podcast. Yeah. Getting cammed yeah. Or getting, yeah. Or go, yeah. Going chemical. Maybe chemical warfare. Yeah. Um, I'll think about it if you have suggestions for the title. This podcast I messaged us now even when you're listening to it in the future and it's too late. Sure. Is the magic tricks we've, I've seen, I would say the trendiest thing in 2019 has been Rubik's cube magic.


It is filthy everywhere and I think even in the past month there was like three or four new releases of Rubik's cube tricks of instant solve Rubik's cubes. What do you think about that? I have always thought, I don't understand it. It is a puzzle. I mean it's already questionable that we are magicians and we use their powers with playing cards. That's already a kind of questionable thing. I'm rooting for like a comeback of the Sudoku magic phase. I'm going to start doing Bobbitt magic Oh yeah. Skip it. Skip it. Pop it or skip it. Yeah. I mean you'll like bop it, you'll know what it's going to do before it does it. Yeah. You'll be controlling the Bobbitt. I can actually solve Janga like I can remove the pieces and stack them like that magically. Is that a magic trick? I don't know. Offensive manager, a one piece falls from the top, but you freeze time and it's slowly floats back up into place is the music builds drum. Right. Just like that. I am really happy though that a bunch of middle-aged mentalist do you carry around children's toys to demonstrate their mental and psychic abilities by solving a Rubik's cube with the quintillion ways to solve it very fast.


Okay. I'll be honest about this. I don't know the extent of the real world Rubix cube craze, so that's what this will be directly tethered to. It may not know in the 80s it was super big and so is it that flash in the pan that it is now again, question Mark. I think TBD. I think it's the flash in the pan for magicians at least. I don't know about in the grand scheme of things, but I think it just on a general observation, look at yourself and your


Graeme Reed: character. Would you hold a Rubik's cube? Probably. No. All right. Why would you do it and look at all your props then at that same time, why are you perhaps look like that and would you hold them and would your character hold them and do they fit with the whole thing? Cause why not do a thing with a game boy land in a Pogo stick? Yup. I have dragons painted all over my magic props. I also, I also go white Chinese when I do my magic as well. Yeah. Yeah. It's so timely right now.


Ryan Joyce: What's dragging noise do, does your dragons make? Yeah, that's very close. Oh, there's a, yeah, there's a dog bark at the end of that. What trends do I think is going to Whoa boy


Graeme Reed: QB or what do you think will happen next year in the next five and even if you look back a couple of years ago, I think any car did any number was kind of the real orgasmic thing from magicians. Then impossible feat of any car, dude, any number. How many ways can we come up with doing this?


Ryan Joyce: Oh boy. Yeah. I, I'm really, I'm not a good predictor of things like this and this is really tough for me in the magic front. I'm not sure what to expect. I think we're going to see, I'm just going to pave my own little weird way. That's what I, I don't know.


Graeme Reed: We're going to see on the market's a lot more electronic mentalism electronic devices to read people's minds and doo hickies that connect to your phone and apps and things like that. Which hand, which like who's holding onto this object? You can see what's written down on clipboards. I feel like that's going to be the new, I mean it's already happening, but that'll be the hot trend.


Speaker 4: Yeah,


Ryan Joyce: there's too many reasons why it's, it's, I mean, even in the working world, it's so much easier just to travel with such little, so it's helping us all if it's minimalistic in nature for sure. So I'm, yeah, I'm very curious to see what unfolds. I think we'll see some more magic stars. I think, I think that's pretty, like if a member of the time it used to be just person X, AKA David Copperfield, right. And then it was just David Blaine. Now there's a lot more ensemble shows, which is a fancy. So that's, that's my trend predictor as we're going to see a lot of, um, what would you call that ensemble show? What kind of a rustic cafe? You know, w what do they call that in the, um, not vintage or anyways, it'd be very chic. Yeah. We're going to have all sorts of different category magicians in their own unique category. Oh, absolutely. I think we'll be seeing more pop-up shows too. Like what Toronto company does,


Graeme Reed: the secret shows, they're happening all over the States. It'd be cool to also traveled to these shows and it try to hit and beyond a lot of these shows just to say you did it as well. Yeah. So many popups, which is great for live theater, live magic and everything.


Ryan Joyce: Yup. Yeah,


Graeme Reed: you're right. That probably will be the new trend. People hosting shows and may be performing a lot more now.


Ryan Joyce: I hope so. It'd be cool. Micro shows and things like Crow shows, micro show in the world of men.


Graeme Reed: Do you have a key thing that you want to focus and improve on this upcoming year?


Ryan Joyce: I do. Yes. My, my personal brand. Yeah. Yeah, yeah. I have not put any effort into marketing, not marketing. It's not a, it's not about marketing. I just don't, I don't want to travel so much. I've got to cut back on that drastically. So, um, I'm going to be diversifying my portfolio as they would say. Um, so I would try a whole bunch of new, different things, but most of those won't be as financially risky as they have been in the fat in the past. That would be more centralized on the things that I feel like I've made a bunch of critical projects or I don't want to say errors cause there's aren't errors I've learned from everyone of them. But I've tried a couple of things over the last couple of years and I've lost a shit in a cash doing. So I've taken some big risks. It's a big, big risks. Um, and so that's done for a bit. Um, but that is also not an illusion. A L, L, U S I. O N that, um, to say that, Oh, isn't happening. No. Oh, I was definitely happening again this year. Um, it, uh, lots of exciting things already planned in the works for that, but um, I'm just going to be fine tuning and simplifying and, and, and such. So yeah, that's my forecast of the stuff I'm, we're going to, how about you?


Graeme Reed: So for me, I think it's the same realm working on my personal brand and character development. Actually, this past year I had a character session with Michael Paul, which really helped me out out what I'm doing with graemazing and where I want to go. We've talked about that on the podcast before. So I'd like to continue that exploration. That is also, I want to rewrite my show, rework my show. So it's unique to me. It all makes sense. And I've started developing more of this whole character of graemazing level seven wizard limited. It's like a yellow belt in karate, kind of a maroon in swimming classes.


Oh my God. I feel like I was always Barun in swimming, but then now I get people asking me more questions as I reveal more things like, well, what's the highest level and wizardry or something and do I have a Patronus which would be a pet creature that you have with you, which I think I should have something like that and I'm not sure what I was thinking. Like a raccoon is fun because it's a trash Panda, but at Rocky the raccoon already exists so that, I'll find it though. I'll find it. You could still work that. Sure. I guess I wouldn't to David Williamson a lingual. Yeah, but it wouldn't be, it would be like a rabid homeless raccoon. No, it'd be a Hamilton. Yeah. Raccoon, Hamilton, trash Panda. It, it carries. So these are the things that packs, this is the thing, these are the things I want to work on for next year, so I'm going to be doing a lot more of the comedy shows.


Again, more pop-up shows, more secret shows, more software and shows to explore and create. It's all about creating end. I'm also going to structure my business on the back end better so I can continue to make money and pay for this house. Yes, those are all important things to be able to make money off of this, so there's something, yeah, it will be also focusing on as well. Lots of it. I always am excited for the new year. I'm always looking forward to it, so I think it'll be nice to start a fresh blank new year. Hopefully it's a great year for everybody listening and hopefully you were a part of that year. Hopefully you can keep tuning in. I actually just got an email too from a business coach that I consulted with. Oh yeah, exactly. One month ago, and the email of course is inquiring the steps in the action that I've taken.


I've taken so much action, so many steps already in organizing my business to go paperless, organized on the computer. I will still, however, keep one agenda. I need an agenda. I need to have a physical thing that I can scribble and also a notebook, but no more post-its, no more random notes. Everything's organized. And if you do, it's all very vintage paper. It's the rule. I've made this paper. Of course, all of it is recycled. Actually all the paper now that amusing is last year's Christmas rap. I see. If you need to soak the Chrysalis, try to find like a hair in the paper. Well of course this is the hardest part of, of tub paper.com Leo for animals, because we're also a rescue shelter here at our house. Yep. So there is always hair in the paper. Neat fact though. It does help bind a couple pages together.


You can use that hair braided together, loop it around the corner and you got all of yourself a little field notes, a lovely Christmas gift. Lovely. We're trying to team up with, you know, guests were, the hair came from, whose hair is it? Whose hair is this? It will, it's like, I'm not sure if you're familiar with blush. They make cosmetics that are all natural and environmentally aware and learning age person that made sound convincing. Each person that makes the cosmetic puts a sticker of their face on the label saying, Hey, I'm Derek and I made your cosmetic. So we put on, Hey, I'm Chloe and that's my butt hair. There it is. There it is. That's how this product sells. That's our unique feed. Have Chloe's butt hair and you're surprised and you're supporting for rescue animals, guys, touchpaper.com go there. Now we are offering a special promo promotion Chloe, by the way, which one?


That's our small tiny cat. She's a, she's a little runt cat with long hair. She's got like if you have had or paper sample and you have the Brown and orange kind of hair, maybe darker colors mixed in there. Nothing black. You have Chloe's hair. She is the most majestic out of all the animals in the house. It's amazing knowledge. You only find here magicians talking magic episode 23 you know what 23 means? No, I don't. I don't either. Okay. I wasn't sure. Great. What's 23 in your memorized deck? Oh my God, you can't do that to me. Oh, I can't remember. Mine's the four diamonds. Oh, it might not be. I just made it up. I made one up. You could've just made one up. Who knows? I wish I remember that stuff.


I'm trying to remember in my head what it is cause I'm not up on mine either. That's something you know for the next year is probably, I will work on the memories deck a little bit more as well. I'm Michael close thing. He has a lot of resources on that. He does. He is a valuable resource. He's one of those chance. No, with the 23rd chemical on the periodic table is, do I know what the 23rd chemical on the periodic table is? Yeah. Wait, wait, wait, Whoa, wait. Can I try to guess? Sure he can. Okay. Hold on. Let me hit Google. I don't know what it is. I had 23 up in Wikipedia earlier to full disclosure and I was going to do something and I didn't do it. I didn't do it. I wasn't ready. I wasn't ready. Oh, that's all right. So, uh, yeah, there it is.


I was legit. Still looking to try and figure it out. Are we, let's leave everyone at home and suspense. We won't reveal it, but you've been doing, it's not Krypton which would be cool. That's the 36th of course. Oh, okay. What is all mean? Is 35 I remember, I see Liam Salinium sorry. Is among their arsenic is 30 there's 33 what was 23 you'll have to go discovered. Oh my gosh. So you have been carrying out a lot of interviews lately for FISM and a cm. That is FISM happening next year. Really soon actually. That's the North American cam combined where you can compete as a North American magician as a watch. Amazing. Magic amazing lectures. And can you magic promo voice phases? Of course. Um, what am I prolonging? FISM N a system of Federation


Ryan Joyce: international. Can't do it. Uh, yeah. Coming this, wait, my voice is scratchy coming. This may is FISM North America, Quebec, 2020 May 6th to 10th ethical. You need the know, you need to do the FISM and C and combined, I feel like is a great word for that voice combined the FISM and a cm combined Canadian convention. And what is the, what is the whole convention determine? Chemical 23 is on the periodic table.


Graeme Reed: By the way. I had a table chaebol I know, I know the answer of what a number 23 is, but I'm not going to share it. I think if you're listening to this podcast episode over the holidays and you have found out what element 23 is on the periodic table, share it on our Instagram at magicians. Talking magic on this episode, pitcher episode 23 that will make you incredible. Chemical paper nightmare. Episode 23 brought to you by, yeah, the periodic table, the periodic table. But you've been doing, you've been carrying out a lot of these FISM interviews. Um, and you've got to recently talk with a FISM winner from Canada. Yes.


Ryan Joyce: FISM winner. How do you pluralize that even, how do you make that, cause it's not just winning once it's multiple, well


Graeme Reed: times kind of like fool us as well.


Ryan Joyce: Yeah, that's right. Yes. The one, the only, uh, Shawn Farquhar. Yes. I got a chance to chat with Sean before the holidays, which was great. And he shared some, well, we chatted for a long time. It was great. It was nice to catch up with them. I've known John for a while and we've randomly collided here in there once we were in port a Jamaica, uh, getting off the ships and like, Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh, kind of a thing. And so we chatted for a while and so that's great. And Sean also, he's visited sourcer summer Safari, uh, a while back when, when my congenital run in that camp, which was amazing. So, um, that's, I think that might've been the first time that I met Sean, but, uh, we chatted a bunch and I asked him just a ton of questions and obviously on the odd, everything sort of fits into what's going to be released for the FISM, um, media and the, and the content that we're creating there. So we're sharing some of the, uh, the extra little tidbits here and there and this little clip that was interesting for me. Um, and that was Sean was discussing that he had become a judge after winning and just sort of that mind set change that that happens. Uh, and so here's that clip.


Shawn Farquhar: Uh, I was a judge in a visible in Blackpool and one the acts, I decided used a stooge because there was no way that I could possibly see in my magical mind. Uh, but before I called him on it, I turned to, uh, another judge who was from that competitors country and said, have you seen him do this before? And he said, Oh, yes, and you're asking me, is it using a students? I said, no, that's, that's what I want to know. And he goes, no, no students, when you see the method you allow. And I sat for a minute, Oh, I see the method now. Oh, that's really good. He goes, yeah, yeah, yeah. So in the finals, when that came to that moment, I saw it completely and it was like, Oh, this is beautiful. And the guy won, uh, which he deserved to win.


Um, so if I had been completely fooled, I would've probably stayed with the, the, the idea of it being, you know, a stooge and I probably wouldn't have ranked him as high. But being a good judge, I asked questions and if I hadn't gotten an answer from the person there, I probably before submitting would have asked a few other people to make sure. Uh, do you think your life as a performer, it gives you a more compassionate perspective on the, uh, on the performers or do you think you're more critical? Um, pick both fit? Yeah. Uh, I think because I'm a performer and performer who's competed as a judge, I completely passionate, uh, I want to put them at ease. Uh, um, one of my favorite moments of all times was a North American championship. I watched a fellow Canadian, Eric LeClaire walkout. He looked at the panel of judges, looked out at the audience, look back to the judges and said, are you judging me?


That's Eric muster. Because for me, it was like he had to, he had to, you know, ease the room because there's a lot of tension. Um, they, they put this panel of judges and they've got clipboards in the lights and you can see them and they're not clapping. A judges for some reason think that they're not supposed to react. I remember the first time I, I judged an international thing, uh, in Europe and I started to clap and the person asks, you stopped cause I wasn't, don't clap this. Why don't we go up there? You don't want to be judged like, yeah, we just don't clap. Oh, okay. That, that's very hard for me as a performer, not to want to give the love back to the performer. And, but on that same note, uh, because I know so many of the performers and uh, I've seen them work and watch them grow, it also makes it much more difficult as a judge for me.


Uh, I have to become the judge because, uh, I have to judge them on that performance. I can't judge them on their body of work. I can't say I've seen them do better or I've seen them do worse. I have to judge on that day. And putting your head in that mindset, uh, is a difficult thing. I do it and, and I'm proud of it because a lot of acts are going to say, but you know, I can do better. Yes. It's like, but what did you think of your performance today? And that's all we can base it on when you walked out and where you are, he said, but you've seen. Yes. Yes.


Graeme Reed: What did you think of today? That is, that's, um, that's really fascinating. Would you, you've competed, would you ever be interested in judging magic I'd be interested in competing. Do you think you, are you Dustin off the competition pants? I have my, um,


Ryan Joyce: Hm. No, I'm, I'm good. No, I'm just not throwing it off the table.


Graeme Reed: Right. I guess I'll be honest, since we've been doing the podcast sang, but FISM I've never ever thought about competing, but it's an interesting thing to think about. Good. Yeah. I think it's very fascinating. That's great. And actually the last interview that we had on the podcast, talking about how it's a life changing experience by competing in FISM. I mean that's a huge selling factor. The whole thing too. People don't have a, you got to start researching FISM guys February's the deadline, FYI to submit a lie.


Ryan Joyce: Yeah. To submit for the competition. Uh, for may I think February. I think that's what it is. When I was chatting with Bradley Jacobs, um, that date sticks out. So I will get back to you on that, but I'm pretty sure so that gives, that gives people time presumably that are working on something that are maybe not committed yet. You know, it is certainly enough times to punch out something, but the video that is submitted has to match what's going to be, um,


Graeme Reed: we presented in a reasonable format, so,


Ryan Joyce: so yeah. So you're thinking about it. That's good. I, and I hope, um, yeah, I hope others are as well because this would be the time to be thinking about it.


Graeme Reed: That's true. That's true. And I think that's all about the um, the hunt to be more original than the passion to share better magic all around. Yep. Cause magic is a weird thing and I think this might be a good space to kind of leave this podcast this year. End review on is like maybe a new challenge. I'll start off with kind of my challenge. If you have a challenge after for magicians as a whole for this next year and maybe even the decade coming up. But I think for me it's all about originality and we see a lot of magicians doing the same pieces. And I'm a culprit. I do the mentalism cube thing, right? I don't a lot of magicians do this, the dice in the hands and you guessed the number thing. Let's try to do new pieces that the other guy isn't doing. Maybe remove that piece and figure out what the story that you're telling.


Well I'm just reveal it's a simple mind reading game and reveal three things. So let's rewrite that story. Doesn't need a dice because that's available. How can we recreate this? And I think it'd be cool to see magicians on a whole do this. If you have a piece in your show, like every magician does it, but you're like, I do it. It's great. It always gets a great reaction. I don't have to worry about it like bandana, let's remove that. What story are you telling? Well, it's a comedy routine where I flub up the wrong props, but rewrite that story. It's easy to do it if you just sit down and give it a moment and then you're more original. And I think that's what we all need to focus on this year. Especially now that there's more pop-up shows for magicians more magic on TV.


We have to all be more original. So we're not just the guy solving the Rubik's cube vanishing the bandana. We're not all that same magicians we gotta be different guys. I think that is my challenge from magicians that listen to magicians talking magic there it is. That's great. Yeah. The, I guess the only thing I would add is that, um, uh, is I think we should be forming more communal magic bonds. I think supporting magically others that are in the same journey rather than viewing, I dunno, embracing, embracing that community, I guess is what I would say. I think it would be any, it'd be really nice to see magicians helping magicians such like that. Yeah. That's what we're trying to do here. Yeah. That's started a whole new campaign. Magicians helping magicians there it is. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. Which is true. I mean there's only like 10 of us.


There's only so many magicians in the world, which by the way, all magicians that listen to this podcast. Thank you so much for tuning in. But yes, thank you so much. Stay close. Don't get jealous of each other. Everyone is helping each other. If I book a gig, it's good for everybody. If you book a gig, it's good for everybody. If you can't read terrible, then it does and it doesn't help anybody. And also if a magician to it gives you some advice, maybe a little tipsy like, Hey, update what you aware or have you thought about not doing that?


Ryan Joyce: Maybe. Yep. Maybe willing to take criticisms, maybe a task, take those grades, asked some other people what they think about the same concept, but it's all constructed is my role will not. It's like I'm not usually, sometimes I do say something before I'm asked, but most times I keep quiet unless somebody asks. I don't say anything. I will sometimes know bring up something if I think it's maybe important. Yeah. But I try not to beat not something that's like rude or terrible, but something that's important. Yeah. If I noticed standing out and I don't know if they were conscious of it because I think,


Ryan Joyce: okay, calm down. I think in the realm now of all these pop-up shows and things and when we perform a fellow magicians you should be watching each other's acts and when you may come off share notes because that's the point of this. When you go to a comedy show, that's what comedians do. So that's what the idea is. Grants was to you go and perform and then hang out. And like he said, I'm done, my set, watch the other acts. We're learning from each other. We're sharing with each other. There it is. That's great. Triple snap store community. It's great.


Graeme Reed: No, I don't know about you, but I have a batch of paint, like there's three cats and a dog in my tub right now stomping on all the newspapers in the past year. And we currently have all the Christmas reps soaking in a big tub in the basement of just vinegar that's getting ready and seasoned for next areas to dig. Very, yeah, the pH and as rip that newspaper apart. Good. Yeah. So we have this build out a bowl. I unfortunately do have to tend to my tub. Uh, yes. Paper. But thankfully you did provide me with this new chemical solutions. So we no longer have to do the overnight process where we add the margarine and we have to turn the whole tub and then wait three days. Now we only have to wait two days because of your special chemical solution.


Ryan Joyce: I can't believe it's not butter. I can't believe it's not paper. There it is. This has been a great episode. Episode 23 this has been a great year. Great year. Thanks for being here with us. Great decade.


Graeme Reed: This one, this


Ryan Joyce: Officially, we'll conclude season one of magicians talking magic Oh, we'll start season two. So I, is that seem right? Yeah, sure. Let's do it. I like that. Season two begins next year and we'll see everyone and talk to everyone and happy new year everybody. Yay. Celebrate. Be safe. Have a wonderful year. Stay with us. We'll stay with you. We'll keep talking. Magic cause that's what we do here on Magicians Talking Magic my name is Ryan Joyce.


Graeme Reed: My name is Graemazing


Ryan Joyce: Shablazam


Graeme Reed: TaDoozle



Thanks for listening to Magicians Talking Magic Podcast


0 views

Recent Posts from Magician Masterclass

Join Magician Masterclass for free.

Theatrix_Logo_White.png

© 2020 by Magician's Masterclass and Theatrix International Inc. 

All Rights Reserved | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy

“This site is owned and operated by Theatrix International Inc., An incorporation in Ontario, Canada.  Theatrix International Inc.is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Theatrix International Inc. also participates in affiliate programs with other sites.   Theatrix International Inc. is compensated for referring traffic and business to these companies.”